New to Brogborough - advice requested

Rendering Error in layout Widget/Social: Call to a member function exists() on null. Please enable debug mode for more information.
More
17 years 9 months ago #551 by paul
I've just returned from abroad and live reasonably near Brogborough so it makes sense to apply for membership. (The welcome helped as well!).
I need to get some big kit as I only bought an 85 ltr board back. Can anyone help me decide what to get? I weigh about 85kg and want to maximise TOW during my time off work. If there's racing I'd like to join in. I've no experience of inland sailing.

I understand that raceboards have died so it looks like something above 140 ltrs.

Any advice would be welcomed.

Paul

Far too old for this game

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
17 years 9 months ago #552 by mike g
Hi Paul,

It's good to hear that you are keen to join Brog. The more the merrier!

Tony has quite a wide range of Starboard demo kit and would be more than happy to give advice on what board and rig might suit you. Depending on what you like to do on a board, blast, race, freestyle, etc (sadly, waves aren't an option at Brog... unless it is blowing >40 knots :wink: ) then it could be anything between 115 litres and 145 litres for regular sailing or if talking in widths (as Boards magazine would prefer), between 70cm and 80cm. That would suit you on 90% of the sailable days and on the windy days you might want something between that and the 85 litre board. On the other hand, you might like to try formula boards out which are both higher in volume and wider than what I have written above. You'd have to try one to find out if you like them.

The racing is on Thursday nights and is not intended to be serious but I think that everyone has something of a competive streak in them. Everyone seems to have someone that they want to beat on the water, even if they do not know who it will be until midway through the race!